News:

Welcome Rad Power Bike owners!

Buying a Rad Power Bike? Support the forum and use my affiliate link: https://bit.ly/2VMSVHl

Be sure to sign up for a free account to see posted images.

Note: To help support to ongoing costs of running
the site we use Amazon affiliate links.

Main Menu

RadWagon Issue - HELP - I've tried it all...

Started by pearlbeer, August 17, 2023, 09:58:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic Rad E-Bike April 2024 Promotion

pearlbeer

I have a 2020 RagWagon (w/ the larger wheels).
For background: The bike has 3,000mi on her. I'm a pretty good mechanic and keep my bikes in good shape. It's never been wrecked and has generally been dry and kept in a climate controlled, covered environment.

A number of months ago I rode to see Bruce Springsteen. On the way back the bike started dropping power.  (apparently, baby, I wasn't born to run). Everything works as normal, but as the power kicks in, the power seems to ramp up to the expected level and then drops completely. I can even see on the display where the wattage runs up to a few hundred watts then drops to zero.  This happens at all PAS levels and is identical when using or not using the throttle. I can get power back by turning the unit off/on.  Pedaling backwards seems to work sometimes, as well as just waiting for a bit (20-30secs?), sometimes.  However, any power recovery just sees the issue repeating itself right away.

I'll keep this post strictly to solving the mechanical problems, rather than complain about recent RAD parts and service. I just really want to get this fixed and I'm all out of options, and like Air Supply said, I'm all out of love.

Here's what I have done (in the order I recall):
- General maintenance and inspecting connections and wires (issue repeats)
- Inspect crank (issue repeats)
- Unplug and isolate brake sensor cables (issue repeats)
- Replaced fuses in battery (issue repeats)
- Borrowed a RAD battery from a friend to test the battery itself (issue repeats)