News:

Welcome Rad Power Bike owners!

Buying a Rad Power Bike? Support the forum and use my affiliate link: https://bit.ly/2VMSVHl

Be sure to sign up for a free account to see posted images.

Note: To help support to ongoing costs of running
the site we use Amazon affiliate links.

Main Menu

RAD City LED displays

Started by thormanson, August 06, 2023, 02:29:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic Rad E-Bike April 2024 Promotion

thormanson

Hello Rad City Users:  This topic may have been addressed before.  I tried to research as I am new to site, but it says previous discussions were too old.  So my question/concern is related to the brightness level on the LED displays on the Rad City.  There are two displays.  I live,and have lived, in very sunny climates.  My vision is fine, but I have a lot of difficulty reading the displays on bright sunny days which are the norm where I live.  I have adjusted the brightness levels to max, peeled off the celephane covers, adjusted the angle of the display to me when riding; all to no avail.  For pedal assist levels, I basically have to guess what level I am in by the feel of the resistance. I know other electric bike manufacturers have addressed this issue, and I am also aware that Rad is aware of the problem as I have spoken to one of their reps about it.  Part of their response is that the design for a lot of their bikes took place in Washington State where the no. of bright sunny days is at a premium.  I have no problem reading the displays on cloudy days.  Is anyone aware of any upgrades for this model either hybrid or offerred by RAD?  Thanks.

Jay West

Have you tried changing the angle of the displays... sometimes this will help.  I have a Rad City 5 Plus and can read my displays.  Maybe some displays are naturally not as bright as others.

thormanson