Author Topic: Mission for trails?  (Read 3328 times)

Saluki

• View Profile
Mission for trails?
« on: November 12, 2021, 09:28:35 AM »
Hi - new to the group, and looking for the right E-bike to get. First, I've been riding - road & trails - for about 20 years. But age is catching up to me ( 70+) and I thought an E-bike would allow me to keep on biking. I've given up on road biking of late, and we have a pretty good network of RR trails to bike here in the Adirondacks. The RR trails are flat - no real hills - but can get muddy, and in winter, snow packed. I've been riding my Kona Caldera MTB with pretty good results on the trails, but thought an E-bike would allow me to explore further with the same effort. I don't care about going fast, just concerned with increasing my distance over what I can manage with the Kona. The bike I'm looking at is the Rad Mission. Looks like a "regular" bike, low stepover, and a reasonable weight (48 lbs) so I expect I can get it into my Nissan Rogue.  On the minus side - singe gear, and max wt listed at 275. I'm a big guy - 260 or so, 6'2". Yikes!  Does that mean the bike will collapse under me if I'm dressed for winter riding? As to the single gear, with the electric power be sufficient to handle the flat RR trails? Or is it possible to modify the Mission's gearing with either a swap of the crank gears to dual or even adding say 7 speed freewheel and derailleur? I have looked at the Rad Rover, but the 70 lb weight is getting a bit much to hump into the back of my Rogue. So, suggestions? Recommendations? Thanks - hope to get the new bike before Christmas :-)

DCH3416

• View Profile
Re: Mission for trails?
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2021, 09:58:10 AM »