News:

Welcome Rad Power Bike owners!

Buying a Rad Power Bike? Support the forum and use my affiliate link: https://bit.ly/2VMSVHl

Be sure to sign up for a free account to see posted images.

Note: To help support to ongoing costs of running
the site we use Amazon affiliate links.

Main Menu

Trying to decide

Started by Jbruno1954, August 09, 2020, 11:21:31 AM

Previous topic - Next topic Rad E-Bike April 2024 Promotion

Jbruno1954

Trying to decide between Rad and Himiway .   I'm 65 with bad arthritic knees and  my bicycle kills me on any type of incline so I think the ebike sounds like a dream    We have a beach place 150 miles away.   Can I get either of these onto a bike rack on my car?

Dan B

Hello, I am new to Ebikes myself, so for me to tell you which bike is best for you may not work. However I do believe that Rad has wonderful customer support and when you need a part, they ship fast. Some of the other companies are not as reliable in that department because they ship from a big warehouse somewhere in the states but their HQ is in another country. Also Rad has many different bike options that may suit your needs, age, strength or slight handicaps you may have.
      You stated you were 65 and have bad knees. This to me would indicate you would likely have trouble loading/unloading a 50-70 lb ebike by yourself. also a heavy bike is not like lifting a barbell. With bikes you have your hands and arms in awkward positions and its hard to get the bike in close to your body to get leverage. A standard platform style hitch mount bike rack will likely not support a heavy ebike. So a search for the proper bike rack may be just as important has the bike itself.