News:

Welcome Rad Power Bike owners!

Buying a Rad Power Bike? Support the forum and use my affiliate link: https://bit.ly/2VMSVHl

Be sure to sign up for a free account to see posted images.

Note: To help support to ongoing costs of running
the site we use Amazon affiliate links.

Main Menu

Car or Rad Runner Plus

Started by Creasey23, June 27, 2022, 03:54:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic Rad E-Bike April 2024 Promotion

Creasey23

Hi,

Please help...

I usually drive to work, however being a keen cyclist and due to increased fuel prices I have started to cycle to work on my road bike. On my road bike, it takes around 2 hours one way to commute to work (46km, 600m of climbing). I am a PE Teacher which then means I am fairly active throughout the day with another 46 km ride home in the evening. In total it is 92 KM of cycling with over 1000m of climbing and around 4 hours of riding each day. I have noticed my energy levels at work depleting a lot by Wednesday.

2 days ago my car badly failed its MOT (Annual UK safety test), so much so that it is now off to the scrap yard. I am at a point where I don't want to buy another car and by doing so inherited the running costs (?500-?600 per month). I am thinking about a rad power bike purely for commuting, I would use my road bike for all other group rides, training, etc.

My questions are:
1. How much faster will a rad runner plus do my commute in?
2. I will be using English country back roads in winter, sometimes they can be icy, will it be safe?
3. Would the Rad Runner Plus model be my best option?
4. Are EU bikes easy to make go faster?  ;)

Thanks,

Dan

Eric7

I've commuted for 5 years on a bike - and there was a stretch of 5 years, after college, as an adult, when I did not have a car.  I lived and worked in a big city.