News:

Welcome Rad Power Bike owners!

Buying a Rad Power Bike? Support the forum and use my affiliate link: https://bit.ly/2VMSVHl

Be sure to sign up for a free account to see posted images.

Note: To help support to ongoing costs of running
the site we use Amazon affiliate links.

Main Menu

Odd Crosswind Feeling

Started by lonelocust, March 31, 2022, 09:36:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic Rad E-Bike April 2024 Promotion

lonelocust

I'm new to eBikes.  I got a Rad City 5 last month, (lovin' it) and I've put about 1,200km on it.  (And as backstory, when I was much younger, I was quite an avid road biker and have 10's of thousands of km in the saddle.)

Yesterday, I was riding with a strong mostly crosswind (with some headwind) up 30km/hr.  I was trying to make up some time, so I was in PAS 5 and the bike was moving at full-assisted speed.  I got hit by a very strong crosswind gust and I experienced the most disorienting feeling - almost sickening, like a turbulence bump in a plane.  My path didn't deviate much, but it was very noticeable.  For a moment, I thought I was going down into the street.  I'm sure I tipped a good 10ยบ or more, and I've never felt anything like it on a road bike before.

Now, I know it's related to the centripetal force - the wheels trying to maintain a straight, circular path in the face of an external push, and I'm guessing the reason I've never noticed it on a road bike is related to either (A) the more massive wheels, (B) the larger mass of the bike itself, (C) the larger mass of the whole system [bike and rider - as I'm also twice the mass I was when I was younger], (D) the velocity, or (E) some combination of the above.

I guess what I'm curious to know is... Is this a thing others have experienced on eBikes (or any bike, for that matter.)

Eric7

Many miles of experience on a road bike here.