News:

Welcome Rad Power Bike owners!

Buying a Rad Power Bike? Support the forum and use my affiliate link: https://bit.ly/2VMSVHl

Be sure to sign up for a free account to see posted images.

Note: To help support to ongoing costs of running
the site we use Amazon affiliate links.

Main Menu

Dropper seatposts

Started by jastewart325, April 06, 2022, 09:30:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic Rad E-Bike April 2024 Promotion

jastewart325

I'm new to ebiking, bought a City 5 Plus 3 weeks ago. I have been away from cycling for several years but used to do a lot of road biking. At the start of my first ride, I fell over--and pretty hard. I think I may have broken something in my shoulder, but it seems to be healing well. Anyway, I had trouble starting out and tried to stop with one-toe support (I had set the saddle height for road bike pedaling efficiency). The weight of the bike bowled me over.

I have talked to several people who are riding much lower due to wanting to be able to plant their feet solidly when they stop. I want to keep my butt high enough for efficient pedaling but of course don't want to fall over again, so I'm going to try a "dropper" seatpost that will allow me to drop the seat when I stop, then raise it again quickly when I start again. These are used mostly on mountain bikes, but it seems they might be useful for a variety of ebikes as well.

What are people's thoughts and experiences with dropper posts?

Ddaybc

I have been investigating dropper posts for a while. I have learned I need a 200 mm dropper post on my RW4 as I have a bad leg but, like you, I like to have my seat high enough for efficient peddling. It also needs to be low enough that I can swing my leg/foot over the seat to get on and off the bike. For some reason I am not able to step over the centre portion of the bike even though it is quite low. Age and injuries taking their toll I guess.  ::)